Virtual Life Support can be installed and managed centrally using Meta Horizon Managed Services (HMS). This applies to both the evaluation (demo) version and the full licensed version of the app. Both versions of the app are shared with your organization as a Private App.
This article explains the required steps and our recommended HMS configuration.
Installation
Step 1 – Share your HMS Organization Key
To allow us to share Virtual Life Support with your HMS organization, please send us or your reseller your Organization Key.
You can find and share this key via:
Apps and content → Invite developer → Invite developer by sharing organization key
Once we receive your Organization Key, Virtual Life Support will be shared as a Private App with your HMS organization.

Step 2 – Accept the app invitation
After the app has been shared:
- You will receive a notification (usually via email) from us or your reseller
- Log in to Meta Horizon Managed Services
- Go to Notifications
- Accept the invitation from VR Lab / Virtual Life Support
After accepting the invitation, Virtual Life Support is available in your HMS environment.
Alternatively, if you do not see such notification, go to:
Apps & content → Manage apps
You should see the invitation at the top and can accept it from there.

Step 3 – Configure the app’s visuals in HMS
Configure the visuals for Virtual Life Support using the images that you can download by clicking the button below. The zip file contains images for the evaluation version and the licensed version. Select the corresponding logo and icon files.

Recommendations
Step 4 – Recommended HMS Shared Mode settings
We recommend the following settings when using HMS Shared Mode (as device specific settings or in a device preset):
- Enable Details → Allow offline device sessions
- Configure Settings → Security settings → OS Updates → Postpone for 30 days
- Configure Device experience → Device experience → Choose to start session with controller or hands → Hands
- Disable Device experience → Default settings → Use Stationary boundary by default
These settings provide a stable and consistent training experience.
Step 5 – Recommended app settings for Virtual Life Support
We recommend the following app-level settings in HMS:
- Configure visuals: see above
- Configure Settings → App update settings → Automatic updates or Postpone updates for 90 days (whatever you prefer)
- Configure Settings → App permissions → Microphone → Auto grant
- Configure (for license activation with QR-code) Settings → App permissions → Headset cameras → Auto grant
- Configure (Virtual Life Support Pro only) Settings → App permissions → Nearby devices → Auto grant

HMS Shared Mode and session data
When running apps in Shared Mode on Meta Horizon Managed Services, local app data on the device is wiped whenever a new Shared Mode session is started. This includes preferences and, where applicable, license data.
For Virtual Life Support, this has the following implications:
- Preferences are reset when a new session starts.
- License information (from Virtual Life Support version 2.2 onwards) is removed when a session ends.
- License information (starting with Virtual Life Support version 2.2) is wiped. When the device is online (i.e. has an active internet connection) and has an activated license, this is not really a problem as the device will connect to the license management backend and will retrieve and validate the license information. When the device is not online a connection to the internet needs to be established to check the license. Virtual Life Support will provide proper guidance while running.
When a device is online and has an active license, this is usually not an issue. Virtual Life Support will automatically reconnect to the license management backend to retrieve and validate the license.
When a device is offline, an internet connection is required to revalidate the license. Virtual Life Support provides clear in-app guidance when this is needed.
Note: as of version v85 of Meta Horizon os, this is no longer a big issue as you can just disable session pass codes and this will retain local app data indefinitely.
Preventing session data from being wiped
There are several ways to avoid the automatic cleanup of local app data:
Option 1 – Use a premium MDM solution
Premium MDM solutions such as ArborXR and ManageXR are configured to retain local app data, even when sessions are ended.
When available, this is the most robust and maintenance-free option.
Option 2 – Disable pass codes on Meta Horizon os v85+
When you are on a recent (early 2026) version of Meta Horizon os you can just disable pass codes altogether. Session data is no longer wiped. This is a very straightforward solution.
Option 3 – Remain in a single Shared Mode session
If you cannot skip using sessions, there is always the option of never ending a Share Mode session. Just use a simple default session PIN (for example, 0000).
This approach:
- Preserves local app data
- Allows offline usage of HMS devices
- Enables Virtual Life Support to cache license data locally
You will be periodically reminded (typically every few weeks) to briefly go online so the license data can be refreshed.
